Where are you a local?

FCF22510-9932-45C3-8B93-3CADB4F07313.jpegA couple summers back while preparing for the international summer camps, I watched a TED talk that discussed a really great premise: where are you a local? Everyone always asks “where are you from?” but in reality, a lot of people have multiple answers. The idea of “being a local” is actually a lot more inclusive, and you are able to learn more about someone if you ask them where they are a local, rather than where they are from.

To back track a little, I need to explain why I decided to write about this. This past week I went to Dallas on a business trip, and continuously was asked two questions. Where are you from? and Where do you live? Like most people, I have two VERY different answers. I am from Rhode Island, but I live in Los Angeles. A combination that most people have never heard before. On my flight, the very friendly man next to me asked if I live in Los Angeles, when I answered “yes”, he then asked if I was from Dallas. (I guess I picked up a southern accent in my brief 4 days here.) He was shocked to learn I was actually from Rhode Island. Instead of asking him multiple questions to figure out his roots, I asked him where he is a local. Taken-aback, he asked what I meant. “Where do you consider yourself a local, you don’t have to be from there, but where do people know your name? Where can you drive around without needing directions? I was surprised to learn that the man next to me considers himself a local all over the world! Currently living in Tennessee, he is a local to many southern states, as well as foreign countries, having served in the military.

If someone were to ask me where I consider myself a local, I would also have a lot of answers. Some of them are as basic as Bristol, Narragansett, and Los Angeles. But I would also consider myself a local in South Pasadena, Newport, Marina del Rey, and maybe even Disneyland (I know that place like the back of my hand!).

Next time you go to ask someone where they’re from, instead ask them where they are a local. Some people have very intricate stories, and 1 singular place might not define them. For example, James was born in DC, lived in California, lived in Texas, lived in Rhode Island, and now lives back in California. Whenever someone asks him where he’s from, I can see his internal debate of which state he is going to tell them! Depending on the situation, the state may change, but I can see his struggle, since 1 place simply doesn’t define him.

Moral of the story, learn a little bit more about the people around you, and you might learn some things about yourself too. I learned that I will usually throw my hands in the air if I am truly happy to be somewhere!

 

BD83BE44-5AF2-40D9-A7A1-A5267DC13892.jpeg

F27776CC-723C-4B12-8EC3-9C97904C09FB2F169565-3F84-4A04-BCA3-9030BB9A0EBED8785E96-7C58-480C-9CF3-F6F7EA2BC799

Leave a comment