The perfect Saturday

11BE7D8E-E057-49CE-842F-92BF901A7B82The sun peaked through our blinds as I rubbed my sleepy eyes awake. Reaching over to the bedside table, 7:41 illuminates on my phone screen. Why can’t I ever sleep in- I thought. James was a sleeping rock beside me, so I decided to play on my phone for a bit before getting up. Scrolling through Facebook, I see everyone’s Saturday morning activities, the 3 hour time difference providing me with a little more content to explore. Eventually 8:30 rolled around and I decided it was time to start my day.

Getting out of bed, I tip toed across our room trying not to wake up James. One sleepy eye flickered open and looked at me, then closed again to resume slumber. After cutting up a perfectly sweet apple to put in my oatmeal, I situated myself on the couch with James’s mac in front of me. “LA Times Book Festival” I typed in the browser. James and I have been looking forward to this event for a couple months, and today was the day!

I sifted through the event page and eventually James joined me on the couch to finish my half eaten oatmeal and look at the schedule with me. Our living room filled with happiness for the day ahead.

The train was filled with book enthusiasts  talking about their favorite authors and which books they were looking for. James and I smiled at each other to learn how many other people in LA we’re excited for this event as well.

We spent about 2 hours wandering through the fair, and eventually bought some books to take home with us. The USC rose garden across the street caught my eye, and we headed that way when we had enough of all the books. An absolute gem hidden in a busy city, the rose garden was exactly what we needed to wind down from the craziness across the street.

438A1475-2588-450D-BCE1-C775BE1F1C7A

Still fueled by a sense of adventure, we hopped back on the train down to Culver City, where we shared some tacos and discussed grand ideas. James asked if I was ready to go home, and to his surprise I responded back “no”.

“Let’s go to the beach!” I said beaming with excitement. James’s sense of adventure matched mine, and how could he say no to a girl in overalls with a smile as big as her face. Back on the train we jumped, and down to the beach we went!

After walking through the beachside bookstore (and buying more books) we ventured down to the spot where the sand meets the ocean. “Eek!” I screamed as the ice cold water rushed over my little feet. I looked back at James who had the same expression on his face. After a few minutes the cold water felt good mixed with the hot sand below our feet.

37EEF47B-A477-4B3A-A5D3-39E0B01053B8

After a while, all of the adventuring began to take its toll, and we headed back to the train station to head home. I sit here now watching the stops go by, only two more until ours. We may be sunburned, sandy, and have been lugging around a bag full of books, but I wouldn’t trade today for anything.

927E2239-A665-4EDA-85A6-AAC9667D7611

 

One comment

Leave a comment