A cliché “new year, new me” post

7CE9C5B1-111C-46A0-A5D9-4FA2209C6338.jpeg

Yes, come Monday morning your social media feeds will be flooded with people exclaiming “new year, new me”. But what is so bad about that? Someone you know wants to leave 2017 behind and improve themselves in 2018. This is your once a year chance to sort-of wipe your slate clean and start new.

I know that’s what James and I plan to do. 2017 was full of highs and lows, but unfortunately the lows seemed to impact us the most. We plan to start 2018 with a clean slate and a new outlook.

You can improve yourself in a lot of different ways. Maybe you want to lose 10 pounds, get organized, have healthier relationships, find a new job, or all of the above! Whatever it is, go for it. The only thing that can stop you is yourself.

Some of my New Years resolutions are to keep the apartment clean, lose all the weight I gained senior year of college (damn you alcohol), and spend more quality time with people I care about. I plan to accomplish these goals by getting a gym membership, eating healthier, making a cleaning schedule and using my weekends to make plans and explore new things.

James and I decided to kickstart our 2018 by using our Christmas gift cards to improve the quality of our lives. This means instead of using butter knives and a paper plates to prep our food, we now own a knive set and cutting board. And we said goodbye to our chipping Teflon pans and introduced some nice new ceramic pans to our cabinet. Some serious “adulting” occurred this morning in the aisles of Kohl’s and HomeGoods, by it was long overdue.

Cheers to 2018, I hope you all set and achieve new goals. Remember- the only thing that can stop you is yourself, so don’t get in your own way!

Leave a comment